Profile

My name is Tim Herzig. I am a research associate in the Department of “Didactics of Human Services Occupations” at Osnabrück University. One of my local work focuses on the adaptation and implementation of the skills-lab-concept for teacher education. The skills lab which was established due to this purpose will be used in addition to teaching for a practice-oriented research in an interdisciplinary context.

As a trained physiotherapist I completed my consecutive Master’s degree program “Vocational Education and Health Care” at Bielefeld University of Applied Sciences in the end of 2014. The topic of my thesis was conceptual development of recommendations for the institutionalization of the skills-lab-concept at universities. I was already able to make first preparatory work concerning the role of teachers in the skills lab and to implement projects for the acquisition and retention of simulated patients during my studies. 

In 2014, an initiative was developed out of these and further projects which deals with the integration and promotion of the skills-lab-concept in the health professions and is chaired by me. The VIFSG was established as a registered association wich operates nationwide and aims at the development of the skills-lab-concept in the health professions and its curricular design and integration into the vocational education.

My Experience
  • Implementation of the skills-lab-concept in the training and continuing education of health professionals and for teacher education in the health and human services professions (e.g. establishment of the skills lab, acquisition and retention of simulated patients, curriculum development)
  • Teaching in the modules videography- and video analysis of teaching situations, integration of methods, scientific work (Bachelor and Master)
  • Implementation of field-specific projects
  • Procurement of third-party funds

Profil

Mein Name ist Tim Herzig. Ich bin wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Fachgebiet „Didaktik der Humandienstleistungsberufe“ an der Universität Osnabrück. Einer meiner dortigen Arbeitsschwerpunkte ist die Adaption und Umsetzung des Skills-Lab-Konzeptes für die Lehrerbildung. Das hierzu eingerichtete Skills Lab soll neben der Lehre auch für eine praxisorientierte Forschung in einem interdisziplinären Kontext genutzt werden.

Als examinierter Physiotherapeut schloss ich Ende 2014 mein konsekutives Master-Studium „Berufspädagogik Pflege und Gesundheit“ an der Fachhochschule Bielefeld ab. Das Thema meiner konzeptionellen Abschlussarbeit war die Entwicklung von Handlungsempfehlungen zur Institutionalisierung des Skills-Lab-Konzeptes am Lernort Hochschule. Hierzu konnte ich bereits während meiner Studienzeit erste Vorarbeiten zur Rolle des Lehrenden im Skills Lab leisten und Projekte zur Akquise sowie Kundenbindung von Simulationspatienten durchführen.

Aus diesen und weiterführenden Projekten entwickelte sich 2014 eine Initiative zur Integration und Förderung des Skills-Lab-Konzeptes in den Gesundheitsberufen, welcher ich vorsitze. Der VIFSG hat sich inzwischen als bundesweit agierender Verband etabliert und zielt auf die Weiterentwicklung des Skills-Lab-Konzeptes in den Gesundheitsberufen sowie dessen curriculare Gestaltung und Einbindung in die berufliche Bildung ab.

Meine Erfahrung
  • Umsetzung des Skills-Lab-Konzeptes in der Aus-, Fort- und Weiterbildung der Gesundheitsberufe und für die Lehrerbildung in den Gesundheits- und Humandienstleistungsberufen (z. B. Einrichtung eines Skills Labs, Akquise und Kundenbindung von Simulationspatienten, Curriculumentwicklung)
  • Lehre in den Modulen Videografie- und Videoanalyse von Unterrichtssituationen, Integration von Methoden, wissenschaftliches Arbeiten (Bachelor und Master)
  • Durchführung fachrichtungsbezogener Projekte
  • Drittmittelakquise an Hochschulen